Rachel Roy turned an internship at Rocawear into a classic- feminine clothing line that’s respected by the stars and  celebrity stylistas.

In a recent interview, Roy dished on her inspiration, her favs, and essentials.  Check it out…

How does your brand remain relevant amidst the belt-tightening?

RR: I focus my designer collection on the idea of ‘classic with a twist’ so that women can keep the garments in their closets for years and still look unique and fresh every time they wear a piece.

What are the essentials every woman should have?

RR:

  • The perfect trench, because it never fails to look sophisticated and chic and can be worn as both a coat and a dress.
  • A go-to cardigan that can double as a jacket.
  • Mix and match skirts can go a long way in creating a permutation of great looks.
  • Perfectly fitting jeans — they look good with everything and will never go out of style.

What shops (online/off) do you patron? Any recent remarkable finds?

RR: I frequent Net-A-Porter and begin with the sale section because there are always great finds. I also like to look out for the newly-featured designer at Target; I love Rachel Ashwell’s Shabby Chic. Vivre has a great sale section, as well. Remarkable finds are completely necessary in building your wardrobe – I feel that if you’re not mixing high and low end, you’re not dressing in a modern way.

Love her style! So timeless! Of course  I included some of my favorite looks. Chic can rock a mean pull bk doo & “hoe red” lip! She makes everything look so classic and crisp!

