Solange Knowles opens her suitcase for a shoot with  Refinery 29 at New York’s Standard Hotel.  The singer who recently celebrated her 24th birthday reveals her style inspirations, her love for shoes and the inspiration behind her upcoming album in stores this fall.

Solange donns a collection of gorgeous looks, showing her mix of high-end and street style from a Boxing Kitten top, Urban Outfitter intimates and studded Louboutin oxfords.

Heart these shots, showing a young artist, mother, daughter and sister coming into her very own:: one deejay set and afro tendril at a time. Go Solange!

What’s your secret style weapon?
“Shoes! I’m all about the shoes! I order a ton of them online and play with my entire wardrobe until I find the right shoe. Unfortunately, so many people get it right from the head until the ankles. The shoe is very important. I can’t even fuck with you if your shoe game is slacking.”

What inspired the bold new ‘do? You mentioned you can no longer hide with that hair, has it changed the way you see yourself?
“When I was recording, I was staying in a house with five guys and two showers. I knew there would be a shower wait everyday and with my natural cropped hair, it’s mandatory that I wash it otherwise it gets stuck to my head like glue! I wanted to get something that I could literally roll out of bed without looking nuts. I watched so many Chaka Khan YouTube videos and became sort of obsessed with her during the process. I went to my stylist and said ‘Give me the fro.’ I walk differently now, sing differently; This hair has spirit and soul.”

What’s your best cheap score of late?
“A cream leather belt with a gold buckle I found at a vintage store in Santa Barbara for ten bucks. I wear it with everything now.” (SEE BELT IN PICTURE BELOW–love the mix of high & lo..iDig it ! )


Do you have anything in your closet that you could never bear to throw away?
“Oh yes! A few things, but one in particular sticks out: A BCBG short, ruffled, floral, baby doll dress I’ve had since I was 16. I wore it at my wedding reception when I was 17. The waistline comes up to the middle of my boobs now, but I just can’t let go of it. It’s so perfect.”

If your style were a song, what song would it be?
“For sure Q-Tip’s ‘Vivrant Thang’.”

